The News Agency of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness

Special Vyasa-Puja Online Event to Celebrate Srila Prabhupada’s Journeys to the Far Corners of the World

By: for ISKCON News on Aug. 7, 2020
Events

The promotional banner for the online Vyasa Puja Festival 'Srila Prabhupada's Journey to the Far Corners of the World'

With ISKCON Founder-Acarya Srila Prabhupada’s Vyasa-puja, or Appearance Day, coming up soon on August 12th, his society’s Governing Body Commission Strategic Planning Team (GBC SPT) is organizing a special Vyasa-puja online event entitled “Srila Prabhupada’s Journey to the Far Corners of the World: The Mystery Behind the History.”

Chairperson Gopal Bhatta Das ignited the idea for this unique theme, which was then discussed amongst the GBC SPT team and developed with active participation from Srila Prabhupada disciple Pancharatna Das and Deva Madhava Das, director of the Harmony Collective in Ypsilanti, Michigan. 

“We wanted to organize a special tribute to our Founder-Acarya,” says Gopal Bhatta Das. “And what better way to go about it than to uphold Srila Prabhupada’s unique position as the pivotal protagonist of Chaitanya Mahaprabhu’s prophesy, ‘....every town and village’?” 

The virtual event will be broadcast live on the GBC SPT’s official Facebook page at www.facebook.com/gbcspt/ on August 12th and 13th, as well as on its Youtube page at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtt2mRZ6jRIUJHNGqkoOyBg

A series of devotees who were instrumental in developing the Krishna consciousness movement in different parts of the world in the early days will be interviewed about their memories of Srila Prabhupada’s visits to those regions for about forty to fifty minutes each.  

At 8:30am EDT / 6:00pm IST on Wednesday August 12th Kurma Das, author of “The Great Transcendental Adventure,” a book about the pastimes of Srila Prabhupada in Australia and New Zealand, will speak about Prabhupada’s visits to Australia. At 10:00am EDT / 7:30pm IST, Chintamani Dasi will speak about Japan. At 12:00 noon EDT / 9:30pm IST, Vegavan Das will speak about Sweden. And at 9:30pm EDT / 7:00am IST, Amogha Das will speak about Malaysia and Indonesia.  

Meanwhile on Thursday August 13th at 9:30am EDT / 6:30pm IST Dayananda Das and Hari Sauri Das, author of A Transcendental Diary, will speak of their experiences with Srila Prabhupada and about his preaching spirit in spreading Krishna consciousness around the world. At 12:00 noon EDT / 9:30pm IST, Mandakini Dasi will speak about Russia while at 6:00pm EDT / 3:30am IST, Bhakti Sundar Goswami will speak about South America.  

“We wanted to focus on places that don’t generally get too much attention,” says GBC SPT member Kaunteya Das. “We also wanted to promote some Srila Prabhupada disciples whom not everyone knows in the world, but who have some special role in Srila Prabhupada’s lila.”

Devotees from across the globe are invited to join in and take advantage of this special event, watching the live broadcast and engaging with it through likes and comments.  

“Participants are invited to ask questions and also air views on the topics being discussed on the live stream,” says Anuradha Dasi, Content Director of all GBC SPT productions. “In fact we encourage our viewers to be actively engaged in the events and get as much benefit out of it. We also encourage everyone to start watch parties and spread the word.” 

During the COVID-19 pandemic, when social distancing is the order of the day, the chance to celebrate ISKCON Founder-Acarya Srila Prabhupada virtually online, honor him and get inspiration to serve his mission is welcomed by many. 

Organizers hope that the event will inspire devotees to carry out their services with more resolve and conviction, and will give them, as Kaunteya Das says, “An added appreciation for the work of our Founder-Acarya and of the efforts and sacrifice of ISKCON’s pioneers in different parts of the world.”

* * * 

Please watch “Srila Prabhupada’s Journey to the Far Corners of the World” live at www.facebook.com/gbcspt/, or at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtt2mRZ6jRIUJHNGqkoOyBg

Tags:
[ gbc ] [ online ] [ prabhupada ] [ spt ] [ srila ] [ vyasa-puja ]
Disqus